Weekly Writing Challenge: Love in the 21st Century – Love, longing, and long distance

A few years ago, when I was pregnant with our fourth child, my husband and I decided on a career change (believing it could provide better for our family). We had some olive orchards in the family in Argolis – a place about an hour and a half away from Athens – and decided to become olive oil producers. We invested literally everything we had in this project and begun our business and this journey into the amazing world of the cultivation of the orchards and the production of extra virgin olive oil.

Never had I imagined that distance would be a problem for us, because I hadn’t realized that creating all that he would have to be thereImage most of the time. Suddenly, I’m found with three kids and a newborn home alone, trying to keep everything together, in complete and utter exasperation. The only thing that kept me going was the thought of the weekend when my other half would come home. Not only to help me, but to hold me, comfort me and make me feel that I’m not alone  in this. What I couldn’t grasp back then because I was too wrapped up in my own reality and every day strive, is that HE was also alone in what he was doing. Putting all his effort in creating something that we both decided on but being alone there. As I mentioned earlier, we invested everything we had into this, so moving there with our family was out of the question. This was a very hard year for the both of us and our family (going through all these transitions), but somehow we survived it. Many fights, bad times and misunderstandings, but we survived; as a couple and as a family.

After that year, I know that we are meant to be together and that we’ll both do our best come what may. No matter if we argue sometimes – it’s only natural after all – we’re there for each other and our relationship has grown stronger. Plus, that this longing we have for each other helps the sparkle between us. How can I not believe that everything in this life happens for a reason? Sometimes I cannot understand life but ultimately things do happen for a reason and all this happened so that we realize that our love is strong and we will face everything together, no matter if sometimes we are apart.

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/24/weekly-writing-challenge-love/

One thought on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Love in the 21st Century – Love, longing, and long distance

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: 21st Century Love is…Dangerous | Comfortably Numb

Leave a Reply

